28 February, 2017

2016 Canadian Fairtrade Awards

2016 Canadian Fairtrade Awards
by Ian Brown, Fairtrade Canada

On Saturday 25th February, the 2016 Canadian Fairtrade Awards were presented to individuals, businesses and organizations that excel in their support for Fairtrade. More than 150 guests from across Canada were present for the ceremony held at the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic in Halifax NS, in conjunction with the 5th annual Canadian Fair Trade Conference organized by CFTN.

Over 50 excellent applications were received for the 16 Award categories – the applications were so good that our panel of independent judges had a hard time to decide which were worthy of winning. We want to thank our judges for their hard work evaluating so many applications:

  • Holly Bond (Bullfrog Power)
  • Jennifer Alldred (Oxfam Canada)
  • Lisa Zentner (Greenpeace Canada)
  • Tia Loftsgard (Canada Organic Trade Association)

Lisa said: “I've always known about the fantastic individuals and companies that are involved in Fairtrade - as business owners, as volunteers, as leaders in their communities - but having been a judge for this year's Fairtrade Canada Awards proved to me once again how exceptional they all are. The passion, the drive, and the energy of this year's applicants was inspiring and made my job exceptionally difficult to try and judge one over another. In my mind, they are all winners for putting the livelihoods of global farmers and workers front and center in what they do, and for creating lasting awareness with their friends, colleagues, customers and neighbors for Fairtrade in Canada.”

Without further ado, here are our winners, in the order they received trophies on the night.

  • Excellence in Consumer Education: Engineers Without Borders, University of Regina Chapter
  • School of the Year: McKay Public School in Port Colborne, ON
  • Campus of the Year: McGill University
  • Excellence in Public Outreach: Chartwells
  • Town of the Year: Brandon, MB
  • New Product of the Year: The Tonight Dough by Ben & Jerry’s
  • Event of the Year: La Marche Monde by Oxfam Quebec
  • Faith Group of the Year: Grace Mennonite Church in Brandon, MB
  • Workplace of the Year: City of Selkirk, MB
  • Excellence in Merchandising AND Retailer of the Year: Federated Co-op Ltd
  • Trader of the Year: Discovery Organics
  • Fairtrade All Star: Randy Hooper, Discovery Organics
  • Product of the Year: KICK ASS by Kicking Horse Coffee
  • Licensee of the Year: Ethical Bean Coffee
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Bev Toews

2016 Canadian Fairtrade Awards

Thank you also to our Sponsors who donated products for the enjoyment of the awards guests:

Fairtrade Canada