Canadian Fairtrade Awards

The Canadian Fairtrade Awards recognize exceptional Fairtrade supporters, partners and allies, including retailers, traders, towns and campuses.

Have you gone above and beyond educating and promoting Fairtrade?

You can nominate yourself or another outstanding individual or organization for an Award and celebrate with us best-in-class Fairtrade performance. The Canadian Fairtrade Awards takes place annually with a formal ceremony where trophies are awarded by an independent panel of judges to celebrate noteworthy contributions of Fairtrade stakeholders across Canada.

We are excited to announce that the Canadian Fairtrade Awards will take place on Saturday 25th February 2017 in Halifax, Nova Scotia. This is the first time the event will take place in Atlantic Canada. The event will coincide with the Canadian Fair Trade Network (CFTN) 5th National Conference which is scheduled to take place on 24-26 February 2017 in the same city.

More details and application forms will be available closer to the event. 

Award categories

  • Licensee of the Year 
  • Retailer of the Year 
  • Trader of the Year 
  • Campus of the Year*1 
  • Town of the Year*1 
  • School of the Year*1 
  • Event of the Year*1 
  • Excellence in Consumer Education 
  • Excellence in Merchandising 
  • Excellence in Public Outreach
  • Fairtrade All Star
  • Lifetime Achievement Award*2 

*1  A representative from a designated Fair Trade Town, Campus, School need only request that their annual renewal be considered for the Awards. A representative from a designated Fair Trade Event need only request that their application form be considered for the Awards. 

*The Lifetime Achievement Award is judged jointly by Fairtrade Canada Executive Director and the Canadian Fairtrade Awards Committee. 


The winners of the 2015 Canadian Fairtrade Awards are listed below. Congratulations to all finalists and winners!

2015 winners


The Awards are judged by an independent panel comprised of leaders from civil society and industry. This year's 2015 panel of judges was made up of:

 Sarah Bertollo
bullfrog power logo

Sarah Bertollo

Sarah works in commercial sales at Bullfrog Power.  She engages with businesses across Ontario to help them reduce their environmental footprint by sourcing clean, renewable energy for their facilities.  Prior to Bullfrog Power, Sarah worked at WWF-Canada where she helped companies achieve their CSR targets through employee engagement strategies. 

Robin Bradley
western grocer logo
health wellness

Robin Bradley

Robin is an Associate Publisher with Mercury Publications and has over 15 years of experience working with food and beverage manufacturers with Western Grocer and Health & Wellness Retailer Magazine.  Robin has worked closely with large and small food manufacturers launching new products in the grocery and health food business. Her specific areas of expertise include: marketing and communication strategies, advertising and sales.

 Robert Jones

Robert Jones

Bob is a retired senior IT manager and works with CUSO International   – non-profit international development organization that works to improve the lives of people living with poverty and inequality through the efforts of highly skilled volunteer professionals.  His international career began with five years as an economic adviser to the Tanzanian Government, and continued in Canada, working briefly in Japan, Taiwan, Singapore and the US.

 Lynn Brenegan
unfi logo

Lynne Brenegan

Lynne has over 25 years of experience in business development, strategy, and people development, cultivated in both publicly and privately held organizations. Lynne served as an executive with UNFI in the US as National VP Organizational Development and Succession Planning. In January of 2014, she was promoted to President, UNFI Canada with a mandate to build a stable platform for growth.  Lynne is a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Organic Trade Association.

 Frank Olok
fairtrade Africa logo

Frank Olok

Frank is the Standards and Certification Manager at Fairtrade Africa, the umbrella organization for Fairtrade certified producers in Africa. His role includes the development and management of Fairtrade Standards including the Fairtrade Minimum Price. Frank is also the Head of the Eastern Region and Central Africa Regional Network where he engages National Fairtrade Organizations, Global Product Management teams and other partners for market development and promotion for producers